Experimental competition program
15 April, 19:00 - Korpus8, 9 Masherava Ave.

Alternative view on what cinema is and who we are. This programme is not for nervous viewers and even for prepared it will be a real experience. Visual phiilosophy. Who are we, how do we live and what do we feel? Experimental programme of this year will try to answer all this questions.

Emergence / Olga Labovkina ( Belarus, 9 min)

For the first time the work has been introduced to the viewers at the final event made by the laboratory studying cinema dance as a phenomenon. The purpose of the project was to study what two forms of art — dance and cinema — have in common. As a result, several short videodance films were shot. This film is an ironic visualisation of gravity changes.

The Correspondent / Alan King ( Australia, 9 min)

A chronicle of one man’s journey through love, loss and resurrection over 24 hours in modern day Thailand.

INBETWEEN / POINTS / TATSIANA SKRYHANAVA ( Greece, 2 min)

Remembering nothing about the moment we were born and knowing nothing about the death we are traveling from one obscurity to another, from one infinity to another. Like the sun we live in a circle: hidden behind one horizon, we appear from the next. Which game the Universe is playing with us.

Oneiria / Jeroen Cluckers ( Belgium, 3 min)

In our high-tech world, unpredictable behaviour from technology is often perceived as negative. These glitches however - ‘the ghost in the machine’ - can be a starting point to expand the possibilities of image production in the digital age. Oneiria uses datamoshing, a technique in which digital video images are deliberately made unstable, and found footage in different formats (digital HD, VHS, Super 8, …) is literally used as paint, smearing images to create painterly, abstract, dreamlike landscapes.

PNEUMA (triptyque) / ANTONELLO MATARAZZO ( Italy, 2 min)

Animation, Experimental; Similarly Karma 1, presented at the Venice Biennale 2011, Pneuma (breath) investigates the threshold between immobility and transformation, highlighting the slow mutation of an ancient olive tree, represented in the detail of the trunk as opposed to analog face an old farmer. The variety of forms of the bark of the olive is, perhaps more than any other plant species, a tree that is an almost instinctive anthropomorphic equivalence, in the face of a wrinkled old farmer. The morphing of the face and the winding wooden formations are a metaphor for the constant sacrifice that the two forms of life ( man-tree) bring into being. Organic forms of powerful symbolic value, absorbed into the relentless cycle of nature, where everything changes and nothing is destroyed.

Singular / Jan mozetič ( Slovenia, 1 min)

In the anarchy of digital memories the events and people bound and mix together, so that we can hardly separate the collector from the collection. Everything becomes a part of an unclear and lonely modern plurality.

Missing one player / Lei Lei ( China, 4 min)

During a majong game a bad situation occurs. Everyone waits for the last player to show up. The three have no choice but to wait and sit there silently in tears. However, they do believe that the fourth player will come. They look up to they sky waiting for this miracle to happen.

DOK Leipzig 2015 — «Silver Dove» Award
StopTrik IFF 2015 — Special Mention

Uprisal / Silence / Bazinato ( Belarus, 14 min)

Six spacially-temporal stories of past, present and future.

Экспериментальная конкурсная программа
15 апреля, 19:00 - Корпус8, пр-т Машерова, 9

Вход: свободный

Выход / Ольга Лабовкина ( Беларусь, 9 min)

Впервые работа была представлена зрителю в качестве итогового показа лаборатории исследования кинотанца как явления. Целью занятий было исследование точек соприкосновения двух видов искусства: танцевального и кинематографического. по итогу было снято несколько короткометражных фильмов в жанре видеоданс. Основной темой данного фильма стал процесс внутренней трансформации гендерной идентичности.

Корреспондент / Алан Кинг ( Австралия, 9 min)

Хроника путешествия одного человека в современном Таиланде, не более, чем за 24 часа, через любовь, потерю и возрождение.

Между точками отсчета / Татьяна Скриганова ( Греция, 2 min)

Мы путешествуем из одной неизвестности в другую, от одной бесконечности до следующей, ничего не помня ни о моменте нашего рождения, ни о смерти. Вращаясь по кругу как солнце, мы появляемся, скрываясь за следующим горизонтом. Это игра, в которую с нами играет Вселенная.

Онейрия / Жерон Клакерс ( Бельгия, 3 min)

В нашем мире высоких технологий, очень часто непредсказуемое поведение машин воспринимается крайне негативно. Однако, такие аппаратные сбои , как “привидение в машине”, могут стать отправной точкой для расширения возможностей производства изображения в цифровом веке. Онейрия создает технику datamoshing, делая видео нестатичными, а отснятый материал различных форматов (digital HD, VHS, Super 8… ) превращает в картинку, размывая изображение и показывая живописные, абстрактные, фантастические пейзажи.

Дыхание (триптих) / Антонелло Матраццо ( Италия, 2 min)

Экспериментальная анимация; Проект аналогичен с Karma 1, представленным на Биеннале в Венеции, в 2011 году, Pneuma(дыхание) исследует черту, между неподвижностью и изменением, детально представленным в виде ствола древнего оливкового дерева, противопоставив модель лица пожилого фермера и выдвигая на передний план их медленные мутации. Возможно, из-за разнообразных форм других растений, дерево почти эквивалентно безсознательному человекоподобию, сравнивым с морщинистым лицом фермера. Принятие форм лиц и извивающиеся деревянные формы создают метафоры для жертв двух форм жизни ( такие, как человек—дерево). Естественные формы важных символических значений поглощаются безжалостным круговоротом природы, где все изменчиво и ничто не разрушено

Единство / Ян Можетич ( Словения, 1 min)

Во время анархии цифровой памяти, мы едва можем отличить коллекционера от коллекции, так как люди и события связаны и cмешены воедино. Все становится частью неясного и одинокого современного множества.

Одного игрока не хватает / Лэй Лэй ( Китай, 4 min)

Участники игры в маджонг сталкиваются с неприятной ситуацией: не хватает последнего игрока. Троица вынуждена ждать и молча лить слёзы. Но они верят, что четвёртый игрок придёт. Они обратили взоры к небесам в ожидании чуда.

Международный фестиваль документального и анимационного кино в Лейпциге 2015 - награда «Серебряный голубь»
Международный кинофестиваль «StopTrik» 2015 — особое упоминание

Восстание / Тишина / Базинато ( Беларусь, 14 min)

Шесть пространственно - временных историй: прошлого, настоящего и будущего.